My Writing Week

The week has been a bit of a whirlwind. Setting up the site took a little while and then sorting out all the research and maps and vocabulary lists for Use’ara into a place where they were all accessible added to the seemingly organised chaos of my room. I spent the rest of the week’s writing time – I write in the evenings after I get home from tutoring young readers and writers – was spent reviewing the outline and starting work on a scene by scene treatment. I didn’t get that finished by any stretch of the imagination.

Going through the outline in that manner, with a fine tooth comb, one might say, led me to realise that I have a lot more material than I originally thought I had. I probably won’t know for certain until I’ve finished the treatment at least, and written a few more of the scenes, but it’s feeling increasingly likely that Thirteen Stars will span more than one book. It’s not really what I had wanted, but I worry that it would otherwise be too long.

Now, I’ve nothing against long books, particularly not in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy genre, my book cases will attest to that and I have confidence in the book’s premise and my ability to write it, but sometimes a writer worries. It’s a big ask sometimes, to ask readers to come with you on a journey of such magnitude… and then of course there are the publishers, who are a breed of their own. Time will tell and we shall see. For now I must dive back into the remainder of the treatment. After that, who knows?

About Eirian Houpe

Writer and Teacher. Published works: Eternal Dance (as Linden S Barclay) and articles for Wigston Magna Dog Training Club, and SFX Magazine.
This entry was posted in Use'ara, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

