Beginnings…

Ever had one of those mornings when you wake up and realise that the only person holding you back is yourself? That was my morning. To be fair, it’s something I’ve realised on a number of occasions, but other than whining and complaining, haven’t really done anything about it. Actually that’s not even really fair either – it’s not that I haven’t done anything about it, just that other areas of my life have taken priority, and rightfully so.

If you’re read the ‘about’ page (and brownie points for you if you have), you’ll already know that I’m one half of a bi-national couple. If you’re unfamiliar with what that means, it means that, although I’m in a committed relationship with someone, because of ‘immigration and the art of being a same-gendered couple’ we’re not actually able to live in the same country. I’m here – she’s there, and hundreds of cozy happily ‘opposite-gendered’ couples say that’s the way it must be because our very existence threatens the sacred institution of marriage. Ahem – I’ll step off my soap box now. This wasn’t meant to be a bitter, overly political post. Anyway, a lot of my energy and free time goes into trying to be in a position where ‘my guy’ and I can actually live in the same household for more than a week or two at a time, several times a year.

There comes a time though, where you have to jump in with both feet and wrap that rope around your hand, riding the bull for all you’re worth. Aside from being able to live with my spouse and raise a family together, the goal I set myself for the year was to make Use’ara: Thirteen Stars available for publication. A quarter of the year gone and it still hasn’t happened, and here’s where my morning realisation comes in. (You were wondering, right?) The only reason it hasn’t, is because I haven’t done anything about it, but that’s all changed now.

Starting today – I’m dusting off the cobwebs from the notes and outline and files that, thankfully, are not saved on the hard drive of my computer that died a week ago, polishing it all up, and sending it on its way toddling out into the world – my literary baby. Like any mother, naturally I’m anxious, who wouldn’t be? I’m also confident, and happy with decisions made, and pathways mapped. So here goes – this first step – my shiny new website and blog devoted to my fiction and getting myself ‘out there!’

About Eirian Houpe

Writer and Teacher. Published works: Eternal Dance (as Linden S Barclay) and articles for Wigston Magna Dog Training Club, and SFX Magazine.
This entry was posted in Use'ara, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

